WASHED AWAY

by fabbyjohn

WASHED AWAY

LAST JUNE, I FLEW BACK HOME TO THE ISLES OF BORNEO FOR THE HOLIDAYS. IT WAS A WONDERFUL TWO WEEKS SPENT LAZING AT HOME AND JUST SPENDING TIME WITH MY FAMILY. I PACKED MY CAMERA WITH ME BECAUSE I WANTED TO DO A SIMPLE PHOTO SHOOT FOR MY PARENTS FOR THEIR ANNIVERSARY. LUCKY ENOUGH, I MANAGED TO DO MORE THAN THAT. A REALLY CLOSE FRIEND OF THE FAMILY WAS KIND ENOUGH TO TAKE THE AFTERNOON OFF AND WE HEADED FOR THE ‘TANJUNG BATU’ BEACH FOR A JUST-FOR-FUN SHOOT. LITTLE DID I KNOW, THIS BEAUTIFUL FRIEND OF MINE IS A MODEL IN THE MAKING. SHE LISTENS TO DIRECTIONS WELL AND I WAS INDEED BLOWN AWAY WITH THE FINAL PRODUCTS.

I HAD ALWAYS LOVED TO SHOOT OUTDOOR. GIVEN A CHOICE, I WOULD CHOOSE TO SHOOT OUTDOOR FOR ANY KIND OF PHOTO SHOOT, BE IT FASHION OR JUST A SIMPLE PORTRAIT. THE SUN IS (AND HAD ALWAYS BEEN) A BEAUTIFUL LIGHT TO WORK WITH AND THE SEA PLAYS A GORGEOUS BACKGROUND FOR THE SHOOT. SHOT AT F 5.6 AND AT 1/200S WITH AN ISO OF 250 ON THE 85MM LENS, ALL I NEEDED WAS AN EXTRA HAND ON THE REFLECTOR WHICH WAS ON HER LEFT TO DIRECT THE SUNLIGHT TO HER FACE.

END RESULT – STUNNING. JUST, STUNNING.

WASHED AWAY

